Aesthetic Inspiration: Les Astronautes

Les Astronautes – Walerian Borowczyk & Chris Marker 1959

This short film has a similar aesthetics to the elements that I have been implementing into my website. The film seems to have a stop motion effect, as if it was made entirely by hand using actual cutout images and a camera. There is an sense of automation in this aesthetic which I think I want to incorporate into my project at a greater extent. I really want that automation to be more evident as the user goes through my website. Watching this video made me want to implement more movement into my characters. Maybe ill animate some parts of my characters such as their arms or legs that the user could interact with. I believe this could create a better level of interactivity and thus, make a greater statement and have a greater impact on the user.

Leave a Reply

