Experiments, Color Palette and Aesthetics

Screen Shot 2016-11-14 at 10.22.30 PM.png

I have asked the people in my class about the color palette that they think works the best and they all liked this color palette the most. I realized that I was actually hoping that they would choose this one when I was asking them so I guess I am going to start developing my website with this color scheme. I really want to animate the lines within this page. I think when the user goes on this page and sees the website assemble in front of him/her, the effect would be really visually striking and I hope that this will be a way to make them aware of the medium. I now need to start experimenting and trying out the animation part of the website in order to see whether animating these lines will portray a desired effect on the user and whether it doesnt seem too busy.

Additionally, I think its already becoming evident that the colors as well as the overall aesthetics of my website will have a vintage and retro-inspired design. I have chosen to do this in order to evoke feelings of nostalgia in my target users. This is significant because in a world that has become so high-tech and fast paced, such visual design seems to ’embody an earlier time when life was a bit slower.  Vintage [design] can elicit a sense of history, of stability, of reliability, and of value.  Even if your business or organization is new, using a vintage design can give people the feeling that it has been around for a while, that it’s a company they can trust’ (Yoder et al., 2016).  This quote is therefore significant for my website as it reinforces the fact that vintage inspired design is still relevant in the digital world and could be combined with digital-related aspects.  Additionally, ‘users statements, such as ‘‘if it looks pleasant, I just trust it,’’ in studies provide evidence that visual appeal has a significant effect on important issues such as trusting a service to be reliable and secure’ (Djamasbi, Siegel and Tullis, 2010, p.308). This quote further reinforces my aesthetic choices and provides specific research that allows me to assume that creating these visual aesthetics will allow me to successfully attract the attention of my target audience.

Bibliograhy:

Djamasbi, S., Siegel, M. and Tullis, T. (2010). Generation Y, web design, and eye tracking. International Journal of Human-Computer Studies, 68(5), pp.307-323.

Yoder, W., Baker, C., S., A. and R., T. (2016). Vintage Designs For the Modern World – Logoworks Blog. [online] Logoworks Blog. Available at: http://www.logoworks.com/blog/vintage-designs-modern-world/ [Accessed 3 Nov. 2016].

Leave a Reply

