Theory: Online Game-Based Learning

Since I decided to make my personality test-based website have an educational outcome, I therefore wanted to look at a strategy that could incorporate this educational quality in the best way possible. I started doing research and the majority of articles that I have found, related to online game-based learning. Thus, I decided to look into this in more detail.

Quote 1 : ‘Digital games, initially designed for the mass market with few educational connections, have gained increasing interests from educators and researchers [as] when used effectively in instruction, [they] can improve learning through increased motivation and engagement’ (Sadera et al., 2014, p.1).

This article was mainly discussing the use of digital games in a school environment to improve learning outcomes. While my website is not aimed at school environments, this article serves as a perfect source of information for a possible game-based website design as my website is promoting an educational outcome in the form of raising awareness of the danger when sharing data online. Since game-based learning is proven to be very successful, I believe that I can use this in order to construct a website that allows for the engagement of the audience by allowing them to participate in a ‘fun’ environment. They will thus be participating and getting entertainment which I think will be the perfect way to simultaneously use their engagement to educate them.

Quote 2: ‘motivation as a function of the engaging, interactive environment that is experienced through digital-learning games’ (Sadera et al., 2014, p.1).

This quote reinforces the previous quote in a sense that it mentions that the  interactive environment that is created online through a digital game could serve as a source of motivation to learn. This article has inspired me to consider implementing  game-like aesthetics in my website as I now believe that the combination of interactivity and game-like aesthetics can significantly improve the engagement level of my target audience. I will therefore need to start looking at websites that implement these game-like aesthetics in order to get a sense of what I need to create in my own interactive website.

Bibliography:

Sadera, W., Li, Q., Song, L. and Liu, L. (2014). Digital Game-Based Learning. Computers in the Schools, 31(1-2), pp.1-1.

Leave a Reply

