Why Are People Sharing data?

After considering the concepts of online identities and data sharing, I became curious about what makes this medium so persuasive which also made me wonder why people are not as aware about this as they should be. Thus I started doing research and I through the research I realized that ‘the Internet was built in such a way that [its] functioning mechanisms remained a mystery to the audience’ (Zielinski, 2006, p.138). This made me realize what the main issue with the Internet is the fact that people don’t actually know enough about this medium. This has a negative impact on society because it is important for people to be aware of the technology that they are using in order to critically approach it. The danger to privacy and security is also relevant here as the user is not aware of the fact that they are targeted because all of that is hidden behind a ‘façade of flashing lights, deceptively simple graphic user interfaces and sleekly design[s] (Berry, 2011, p.4). The graphics are therefore reinforcing the mystery aspect of the technology and simultaneously, masking any threats hidden behind websites.

This made me realize that I need to somehow make the user aware of the medium that they are using on my website. I am still not sure about how I could represent that visually but I am definitely going to start looking for visual inspiration that could somehow inspire me to visually portray this.

Bibliography:

Berry, D. (2011). The philosophy of software. 1st ed. Basingstoke, Hampshire: Palgrave Macmillan.

Zielinski, S. (2006). Deep time of the media. Cambridge, Mass.: MIT Press.

 

Leave a Reply

