Visual Research

Inspiration 1: Source: https://www.behance.net/gallery/41752347/AgXXI-Website

Screen Shot 2016-09-24 at 11.45.06 PM.pngScreen Shot 2016-09-24 at 11.44.59 PM.png

I was looking for aesthetic inspiration for my project and I found a project by Diana Polar, which relates to the concepts that I have been exploring earlier of how our true identity online is being manipulated and blurred and that we are being coerced into consumption online.

I really like how the women are portrayed in a blurry state, which brings an almost mysterious quality to the website. Right away, as soon as I saw the website I began questioning who they could be and why they are blurred. This could be useful for my project as the overall aesthetics of the website portray a sense of mystery and the clean and minimalistic font and colors focus all the attention of the viewer on the women portrayed. The colors portray a sense of sadness in the women.

Inspiration 2: Source: https://www.thebestdesigns.com/designs/fox-createur

Screen Shot 2016-11-14 at 9.48.58 PM.png

This above image has a similar aesthetic of blurring the face, however, while the above images portray a sense of mystery and the colors have a more sombre effect on the viewer, this image has a more surreal effect- making the man who’s face is obstructed by another image, look more comical rather then sad. The image looks almost out of place which brings up more questions of how the man ended up there and what this signifies. I think this ambiguity combined with a surreal, almost game-like effect, makes me more interested in what this website is actually trying to portray. I however, am not too sure whether I like the colors within this image though, I think the orange becomes too overwhelming and has a distracting effect. I do however, really like the ambiguity in this image, I would love to experiment with parts of this website in my own project.

Inspiration 3: Source: https://uk.pinterest.com/pin/149815125081695035/

I think this website also portrays a similar aesthetic of burring identity but in a different way. This website uses a bright paint splash/stroke, in a variety of pastel shades, which seems to erase parts of the body of this woman. Looking at this website makes me  imagine how it would look in an animated state. I think this could be something that I can experiment with later. I also really like the contrast between the minimalistic background and the bright yellow paint. I think this contrast attracts the attention of the audience and  makes them want to discover what is hidden behind this paint.

 

Leave a Reply

